Former Premier League referee, Mark Clattenburg, has claimed that referee Damir Skomina awarded Manchester United a late penalty against Paris Saint-Germain on Wednesday night, because of new UEFA rules.
Marcus Rashford's spot-kick saw Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's men eliminate the Ligue 1 champions from the Champions League.
United, who lost 2-0 at home in the first leg, won 3-1 on the night to progress on away goals.
With the match looking to end 2-1, Skomina adjudged Kimpembe to have handled the ball in the area, after consulting Video Assistant Referees (VAR).
Clattenburg, in his Daily Mail column, insisted that Kimpembe did not deliberately handle the ball.
"Let's be clear, referee Damir Skomina applied the laws as UEFA wish them to be in awarding Manchester United their late penalty in Paris.
"But PSG will be furious, and I understand why. This, for me, should not have been a penalty as Presnel Kimpembe did not deliberately handle the ball.
"This would never be given as a penalty in the Premier League, but it was given in the Champions League because of UEFA's recent instruction to referees, which came about after Manchester City conceded a similar one at Schalke last month," Clattenburg said.